1.75 liters of vodka goes pretty quick these days, need to be careful

I have not been good the last couple of weeks in updating my status. It has been pretty much the same since my last post. The last 2 weeks I picked up a 1.75 liter bottle of vodka on Thursday or Friday and drank a good bit of it on the weekend. This past weekend, I worked a half day on Friday for the 4th holiday and started a little earlier than normal for a weekend. By the time Saturday night was gone, I had about 10 oz left from the big bottle. That makes for some pretty heavy drinking on Friday and Saturday.

I was able to hide it very well. As usual, I started early and paced myself. Making it easier is that I went to the local city pool both days and spend most of the time in the water which kind of helps to keep one seemingly sober. I have to say that I actually did enjoy the buzz along with the sun and the pool. On Saturday we spent 6 hours there. I got about an hour to myself while my wife watched my daughter. That means an hour laying on a lounge chair with my ipod relaxing listening to music. I DO really enjoy that. I could easily spend 8 hours on a beach by myself with a half bottle of vodka and a couple of cold beers and have a nice relaxing time. That comes out to only one good 2 oz shot per hour with a beer here and there. That is not enough to get drunk, only a slight relaxing buzz. However, I don’t expect to get that opportunity any time soon.

I had only about 6 oz on Sunday, all in an hours time while watching the Wimbledon final a little before noon. 6 oz in an hour does give me a good buzz, but then I stopped for the day. I know, however, that I would not have stopped if not for knowing that my wife would return soon from grocery shopping. I have about 3 to 4 oz left and I will drink that tonight after work. Then, I am out again.

My goal is to go at least the rest of the week. If possible, I will go the weekend without picking up. I need to be extra careful this weekend as my sister is coming into town from Florida. She can read me like a book and I don’t want to chance getting caught by her. She will be here until 7/20. That is 2 weeks from today. Can I/will I go that long without it? I am not sure. I can’t think that far ahead and stress over it.

Tags: , , , ,

10 Responses to “1.75 liters of vodka goes pretty quick these days, need to be careful”

  1. beyondtheendoftheroad Says:

    As I read it dawned on me I’ve heard this story before…….

    I think it was Nicolas Cage in “Leaving Las Vegas”

    Funny, I always looked at the stopping and not why I needed to use.
    Quiting always sounded like a good idea as long as it was a date in the future. Just not today…..right?

  2. InTheSameBoat Says:

    Hi! I found your blog on twitter today. (I keep a running search on “alcoholism” going throughout the day, in hopes that there will be some miracle cure announced.) I read through all your posts, and cannot help but feel some connection to you. You’re obviously a smart guy who recognizes his problem.

    I’m 40, well-educated, work out regularly, eat well, and try to keep as fit as possible Alcohol is the single biggest problem in my life. There are times when I start drinking, I will not stop until the last drop, if I have access to an unlimited supply of alcohol. I’ve had benders that have almost killed me. Yet, I still continue to drink daily to take the edge off. AA doesn’t work for me.

    If I could offer some practical advice, I’d say: You need to stop stashing the vodka. The most effective way I’ve found to control my drinking is to make a rule that I will only purchase alcohol in small quantities. I will only buy when I’m sober, and I will only purchase an amount that I can tolerate drinking in one day. When I get home, I will consume it, and will crave more, but will not have any more to consume. Then I sleep and when I wake up, I’m grateful that I didn’t purchase anymore. For me that’s 2 24oz beers a day. I know it costs more, but I consume less.

    Hope this helps.

  3. Marcie Says:

    My spouse has been drinking 1/2-gallon of Vodka every 24/7 for the past 4 years. How much longer can this go on????????

  4. Nadine Says:

    My husband has been drinkning about 2 gallons of vodka a week..( for years) and that is only what i know about cuz he sneaks it.. He take about 9 different med’s for an arays of health issuses how long can this go on without some serious problem?? like thats not enough.

    • alcoholicstruggle Says:

      Hi Nadine, I sure wish I had an answer for you. 2 gallons is a lot. I calculate that as over 24 drinks per day. Most people would not last too long drinking that much. I am hoping that you meant two 1.75 liter bottles which is the biggest normally sold. That would be 11 drinks per day, still a lot, but a lot less than 2 gallons. I wish you and your husband good luck.

  5. Nadine Says:

    yes they are 1.75 liter bottles but he has at least 4 bottles a week.. maybe my calculations are wrong but it is more then i can comprehend..

  6. jimmyo Says:

    A little late to comment but…. Always been a heavy drinker but usually beer for the first decades. Scotch for the last 10 years or so. (age mid 60′s). Ever since retirement (2 years ago) my drinking has been about 3 – 1.75 Liters a week but hid it well as my wife only asked me once or twice a month if i had been drinking. Well i quit cold turkey for 32 days then started again but so far limiting it to 1-1.75 Liters every 2 weeks. Thats a start!

    • Moderation Says:

      Hi Jimmyo, 1-1.75 Liters every 2 weeks is a great start. Hopefully, you can cut it even further from there. Good luck …..

  7. Harold Says:

    I do not drop a leave a response, however I read a few of the remarks on
    this page 1.75 liters of vodka goes pretty quick these days, need to be careful | An
    Alcoholic’s daily Struggle. I do have 2 questions for you if it’s allright.
    Could it be only me or do a few of these responses come
    across like they are left by brain dead people? :-P And, if you are posting at additional online social sites, I
    would like to follow you. Would you list of all of your social community pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin
    profile?

    • Moderation Says:

      No, Harold, I post on no other sites. Trying to do this anonymously. Brain dead? I don’t think so. I appreciate all comments.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

